Search This Blog

Showing posts with label Opinion. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Opinion. Show all posts

Sunday, December 20, 2020

Fake President XVII - Editorial, The Week in Review

Analysis, Commentary, Opinion

12.19.2020

 

Fake President XVII

 

 

It seems like almost everyone has moved on from the election…it seems like it, but the orange menace occupying the oval office has not moved on, the fake president wants to continue on as the fake president and he may be willing to do just about anything in order to have his way.

 

When the electors of the electoral college met in their respective states and cast their votes for Joe Biden, it seemed like there would be no more serious question about his bearing the title President-Elect, even Mitch McConnell gave him that respect on the floor of the senate, but Donald Trump hasn’t accepted this, and it’s not a joke.

 

Donald Trump held his first cabinet meeting in month and in that meeting, together with his senior advisors an argument broke out, the reporting is that the argument became heated, because Donald Trump wanted to discuss the option of declaring martial law and redoing the election in the so-called swing states that he lost.

 

Everyone needs to pay attention because there are only thirty-one days until the inauguration.

 

This is not a joke, if it were a joke, if it were just some kind of reality T.V. ploy people would not be spending political capital on the proposition, one hundred and twenty members of the House of Representatives would not have signed on to a lawsuit asking the Supreme Court to throw out the votes in those swing states.

 

If it were a joke his cabinet and his senior advisors would all be in on it, there wouldn’t be anything to argue about. Some might feel that it was a joke in bad taste, but they wouldn’t squabble.

 

Be aware Trump will do anything to stay in power, and if you think it is impossible, think again, it is merely improbable.

 

Listen, if the path to Trump pulling off his coup involved a complicated political and legal strategy that had to be executed flawlessly over an extended period of time, then I would say there is no chance of Trump succeeding or even staying interested in it long enough for him to pull it off.

 

But, if dumb Donald thinks he can succeed simply by breaking shit…he is going to break everything in his way, smash it to bits, create chaos, leave the country vulnerable in his bid to retain power.

 

Be mindful, I am not trying to be an alarmist. This is just how it is, that is who the Donald Trump is.

 

The country is in danger.

 

Now, I do think his path to success in this endeavor is so improbable as to be impossible, but I also think the fake president doesn’t care…I think he is going to break things.




  

 

 

 

Saturday, December 12, 2020

Fake President XVI - Editorial, The Week in Review

Analysis, Commentary, Opinion

12.12.2020

 

Fake President XVI

 

 

The orange menace may be losing in court but he is not going to stop trying to foment chaos in the vain hope that an opportunity will present itself for him to put an iron grip on the reigns of power and stay in the Whitehouse.

 

The Supreme Court of the United States has rejected his claims, again, but there are still venues will to give him a hearing. His team is pressing a suit forward in the radical Wisconsin Supreme Court as we speak.

 

Nevertheless, Trump is going to keep trying to steal the election regardless of the fact that the votes have been certified against him, regardless of the fact that he could not find a judicial remedy. He is now looking for a political solution and he has eighteen state attorney general’s willing to back him, along with one hundred and twenty sitting members of congress. He has his stoogies in Texas calling for secession from the Union, and a new confederacy of states to join them.

 

We have a choice to make.

 

We can pretend that this is all a farce, a big-bad joke and that this cabaret of fools is just blowing off steam, or we can take it seriously.

 

We need to take it seriously. This is not a farce. Just as Donald Trump’s first bid for office in 2015 was not a farce; people failed to take him seriously then and look what happened.

 

These congressmen and women need to be charged with sedition. They have to be held accountable for the things they say and do. The speaker of the house should refuse to seat them, they have no business pretending to represent the people when they do not respect the vote of the people.

 

Stay vigilant America, the Fake President will do anything to stay in power, he is a fraud and a cheat and a villain, he knows that the Manhattan District Attorney has the goods on him, he can see the road to prison lying right in front of him. His only hope of avoiding that is to stay in office.

 

The man is capable of starting a war to distract us, he is capable of arresting our President Elect to try and prevent him from taking office.

 

Dumb Donald is desperate, and he will do anything.




Saturday, December 5, 2020

America Undone - Editorial, The Week in Review

Analysis, Commentary, Opinion

12.05.2020

 

America Undone

 

 

When I was on my walk yesterday I encountered an old-lady who had fallen on the side walk. She was sitting on the ground halfway between Lake Street and 31st Street on Bryant Avenue, just a few houses away from her home, maybe fifty yards at most, but she was unable to get up on her own.

 

I noticed her just as soon as I crossed the street. When I got closer, she was looking at me, and though she didn’t say anything I could tell that she needed help. I stopped to ask her if she did.

 

She told me she had fallen, and I could see that she was scraped up, her knuckles were skinned and there was a little blood. There was a hematoma forming above her right eye at the temple, quite a good sized knot, quarter-sized in diameter and raised up just as much.

 

I asked her if she wanted me to call 911 for her, but she told me she lived just a few houses away. She could see her dog, a little brown haired malamute looking mutt, who was watching her from the yard.

 

I could see him too.

 

Her name is Susan and she told me that she had been sitting on the sidewalk unable to get up for about ten minutes while people passed by her, walked around her, and nobody offered to help. I saw that with my own eyes as I was approaching her. I watched a younger couple cross the street rather than come near her.

 

She told me that she is eighty years old, and that she had been living on the block for fifty years with her eighty-two year old husband. She was slightly in shock and she was crying as I helped her to her feet and walked her to her house.

 

I carried her bag and held her hand as we went, and I stayed with her until her husband came to the door.

 

I have to admit that I could understand and even empathize with anyone who had some trepidation about approaching her. While I was closing the distance between the corner of Lake and Bryant to where she was sitting on the sidewalk, I asked myself some questions, and considered some possibilities:

 

1.      I had to ask myself if I wanted to come in contact with her because of COVID, I was masked but she was not.

 

2.      I had to wonder if she was just a crazy person, because there are many of them around, and if that was the case, how would I be able to help.

 

3.      I had to wonder if it was some kind of grift going on, if she wasn’t going to try to scam me.

 

4.      I had to wonder if it wasn’t some kind of prelude to a mugging, because, well there has been a lot of that going on (though it didn’t seem likely).

 

I get it, there are lots of reasons to be wary, but what a sad commentary it is on the world we live in, on my city and my neighborhood that people would pass on old-lady by and not even ask her whether she needs help.

 

She cried all the way back to her house.

 

I am ashamed of America, if that kind of indifference is what passes for normal…what the hell.

 

Set your fears aside and do the right thing, if you see someone in trouble, young or old, if you see that they need help...help them.




Saturday, November 28, 2020

The Fake President XV, Sabotage - Editorial, The Week in Review

Analysis, Commentary, Opinion

11.28.2020

 

The Fake President XV – Sabotage

 

 

The fake president is still pretending he did not loose the election, and he is still hoping to steal it. If he has his way he will disenfranchise eighty million voters, and destroy our democratic republic in the process.

 

The fake president and his supporters claim that there was voter fraud, but they cannot show any proof of it in court, in fact they are not even trying. When in court they cry about the election being unfair, but the sad truth is that the incumbent could not get out of his own way and the American people are through with him.

 

Having lost the vote, and having lost in court, they are now looking for a political victory. They are seeking to sew enough confusion to provide their allies with political cover so that the election ends up in the house of representatives where republicans have a numerical advantage and could theoretically invalidate the will of the majority.

 

This is despotism and we must stand against it.

 

There was good news this week; the General Services Administration has officially ascertained that Joe Biden is the President Elect, which is allowing the formal transition to begin, but at the same time Donald Trump has said that he will not leave the White House unless Joe Biden can prove that the eighty million votes he earned were legitimate.

 

The truth of it is this: Joe Biden doesn’t have to prove anything. Each of the fifty states will certify their own election, send electors to congress where their votes will be counted, and if the law is followed Joe Biden will become president.

 

We must be diligent. If we care about our country we must ensure that this process takes place as it is intended to.

 

Time is of the essence and everyone who has ever sworn an oath of service, whether in the armed forces, or because the were elected to office, whether they were appointed to serve or hired to do a job, everyone must stand in the way of tyranny, in service to the constitution, ready to protect it and defend it from all enemies, foreign and domestic.

 

Those were not empty words we spoke.

 

Donald Trump has begun to sabotage the government, he threatens to embroil the United States in armed conflict out of spite, because he is a sore loser, or because he has taken a bribe…who knowns, it could be all three.

 

Stay watchful America, the orange menace has plenty of time to us American’s further harm.   




Saturday, November 21, 2020

General Strike, Part I - Editorial, The Week in Review

Analysis, Commentary, Opinion

11.21.2020

 

General Strike – Part I

 

 

I have been warning about this situation for months; the fake president is pretending he did not loose the election, and he is trying to steal it. He intends to overturn the election which he lost by more than six million votes.

 

He and his supporters claim that there was voter fraud, but they cannot show any proof of it in court, in fact they are not even trying.

 

The Trump campaign pretended to make legal showings over the past few weeks but they lost or withdrew their claims in every case.

 

Now they are relying on wild conspiracy theories and pure propaganda pushed through the Q platform to influence their voters, as well as the week minded office holders that Trump has swayed with his influence.

 

Having lost the vote, and having lost in court, they are now looking for a political victory. They are seeking to sew enough confusion to provide their allies with political cover so that the election ends up in the house of representatives where republicans have a numerical advantage and could theoretically invalidate the will of the majority.

 

I have been warning for months that Trump and his enablers are willing to destroy the Republic and do away with representative democracy, now they have shown their hand, they are nakedly attempting to do it, they do not care if we see it. This is a strategy developed by Steve Bannon, the Fake president along with Rudy Giuliani is fully engaged in a campaign to carry it out, and every single silent republican office holder, from dog catcher to the Senate Majority leader is helping them do it.

 

We cannot let this happen.

 

The fake president is calling county election officials attempting to intimidate them into carrying out his will, and succeeding in some small measure. He has called state legislators to the White House to do the same. He and other republicans have vilified their fellow republican secretaries of state for not throwing out votes in Georgia.

 

This is madness and it must be stopped.

 

I have been complaining about Donald Trump since he entered the race to become President. I was despondent when he won the election in 2016, I wanted to see him impeached and removed from office for his blatant criminality, and then brought before the bar of justice.

 

I did not get my way, though he was impeached he was not removed from office, and I accepted this because that is the way our system works.

 

We were told that the remedy for dealing with Trump was to vote him out, and we did!

 

Now he is refusing to accept that outcome and he threatens to destroy the American experiment because of it.

 

What are you prepared to do to stand in the way of this?

 

If there is a delay in certifying Joe Biden as the president Elect and this results in a delay beyond December 8th in allowing his transition team to begin their work in earnest, then we must shut the entire economy down.

 

General Strike, Wednesday December 9th.





Sunday, November 15, 2020

Fake President, Part XIII - Editorial, The Week in Review

Analysis, Commentary, Opinion

11.14.2020

 

Fake President - Part XIII

 

 

The fake president is pretending he did not loose the election, and he is going to try to steal it.

 

Donald Trump is terrified of what will happen to him when he is finally removed from the White House, he is afraid of winding up in prison for years of fraud he committed while applying for loans, and while filing his taxes, inflating the value of his assets on his loan application while deflating the value of those same assets on his tax returns.

 

Like everything he does, his crimes are artless, obvious and will be easy to prosecute.

 

He is terrified of what this will do to his brand, Dumb Donald, the biggest loser in the history of the world.

 

His fear for himself threatens the fabric of our society. He is fomenting violence, chaos, disorder refusing to recognize our president elect, losing case after case in court because his attorneys cannot provide any evidence, not even the barest hint of proof to substantiate the claims of fraud he makes day in and day out on Twitter and every time he opens his mouth to speak.

 

Donald Trump is a criminal at the head of a criminal regime, a one-term president who never had any legitimacy in the first place. He is a man who has refused to govern, and by the time he is forced out of office approximately 400,000 Americans will have died from a pandemic that the Fake President has refused to manage, a crisis he lies about every single day, even to the point of denying that it is actually taking place.

 

Be vigilant. The democracy is in danger.

 

This fake administration, the fake president and vice president, his Secretary of State, the press secretary and other sundry advisors are all saying publicly that there will be a second Trump administration.

 

Don’t laugh, they mean it. They mean to steal it. They are looking for a pretense to hang on to power. They may not succeed but they are going to try, and they are doing great harm to the nation in the meantime.

 

Stay focused.

 

Be ready to hold the electors in your state accountable, your governors, your secretaries of state, your elections officials and your state assemblies.

Be ready to support a general strike, be ready to bring this country to a screeching halt if the Fake President attempts to thwart the will of the American People.

 

We voted, now we have to make sure that the vote is respected.




 

 

Sunday, November 8, 2020

The Election…Repudiation and a Call for Vigilance - Editorial, The Week in Review

Analysis, Commentary, Opinion

11.07.2020

 

The Election…Repudiation and a Call for Vigilance

 

 

It took a few days to resolve, though like so many things that have occurred during Donald Trump’s regime, it did not have to be that way.

 

The republican controlled state legislature in Pennsylvania refused to allow mail in and absentee votes to be counted prior to November 3rd. The Secretary of State and local election officials had requested it, republicans said no. If they had said yes we would have had the full result from Pennsylvania on November 3rd, just as the orange menace said he wanted, we would have known then that the little tyrant had lost.

 

While it grieves me to know that the number of people who have fallen under Trump’s malign influence actually grew over the last four years, it was more satisfying to find that the number of people willing to vote against him had grown more, we have repudiated him, and the entire world is celebrating.

 

This is not a time to relax my friends, stay vigilant!

 

Especially in place like Arizona and Georgia, Michigan and Nevada, Pennsylvania and Wisconsin, it is time for you and everyone to practice mindfulness and to ensure that the electors sent to represent you in the final tally are the people you chose to do so, and we cannot let the courts overturn the will of the people.

 

There is a lot of work of to do.

 

Democrats won on the strength of the African American vote, the women’s vote, and the Latino vote. Democrats have won on the strength of the urban vote and the suburban vote in our great population centers.

 

The Democratic Party is not the party of elites, as republican demagogues like to mischaracterize us, Democrats represent the majority of the American people, with the greatest degree of cultural and ethnic diversity. Democrats represent the middle class, the working class, the creative class, and the conscientious class.

 

In the weeks and months ahead we have to hold together. There are important races to win for the United States Senate in Georgia.

 

Keep the faith, and keep the pressure up, let’s move forward together.





Saturday, October 31, 2020

Vote XV - Editorial, The Week in Review

Analysis, Commentary, Opinion

10.31.2020

 

Vote XV

 

There are three days to go before the votes begin to be counted.

 

Have you voted yet?

 

Do you have a plan?

 

Do you need someone to help you with your absentee ballot, or get to the polls?

 

If you need help, ask.

 

There is a good possibility that November 3rd will only mark the beginning of the struggle to free the country from the grip of this malign actor, this fake president, and the criminal regime occupying in the White House.

 

Stay vigilant America!

 

Widespread voter suppression, and GOP legal tricks and tactics aimed at not counting the votes of the American people that have been legally cast, these cannot be allowed to define our democracy and shape the structure of a government that is meant to be of the people, by the people and for the people.

 

Vote!

 

Exorcise the orange menace, and be ready to hold your local government accountable, do not let them frustrate the will of the people.

 

What can be said about the dire predicament we are in, except that if we allow Donald Trump and his minions to remain in power, the COVID-19 pandemic will end up claiming the lives of millions of Americans, the worst case scenario will obtain. Donald Trump has no idea how to manage the situation, and he has decided to do nothing at all, worse than that, he is actively working against the scientists and health care providers who are risking their lives to keep us safe.

 

Donald Trump has betrayed the public trust. He is a traitor at the head of traitorous administration.

 

Vote him out now!




Saturday, October 24, 2020

Vote XIV - Editorial, The Week in Review

 Analysis, Commentary, Opinion

10.24.2020

 

Vote XIV

 

There are ten day to go before the votes begin to be counted.

 

Have you voted yet?

 

Do you have a plan?

 

Do you need someone to help you with your absentee ballot, or to get to the polls?

 

If you need help, ask.

 

This year has shown us in ways most of us never imagined we would experience, it has demonstrated a truth about the nature of society itself that is basic few of us ever questioned it or thought to test it, in clear and distinct terms it 2020 has shown us that we are all in this together.

 

For good or ill, we are all in this together, and now we have to vote like we are all in this together. The future of our republic and the fate of democracy depend on it.

 

We must act together to pull through this pandemic or we will all experience the worst of it…together.

 

Yesterday we posted a record number of new COVID-19 cases, over 80,000. WE also posted a record number the day before, and there is no end in sight.

 

We need leadership that will take this matter seriously and not lie to us, to rally our economy in response to it, while expanding the social safety net to manage the worst of the fallout.

 

We need to send Trump and his enablers packing, and put rational, civic minded policy makers in charge.

 

There are only ten days to go before the votes begin to be counted, fifty million people have already voted. The pandemic is only the most pressing concern we face, we have many other issues to deal with in the weeks and months and years ahead.

 

We need an American Awakening, we need to reengage the principles of the enlightenment that inspired the founders of our nation, and blow the trumpet for the new dawn of the age of reason.

 

Vote!

 

Your country is depending on you.





Saturday, October 17, 2020

Vote XIII - Editorial, The Week in Review

Analysis, Commentary, Opinion

10.17.2020

 

Vote XIII

 

If you have been paying attention you would already know that Donald Trump, the 45th President of the United States, is a Russian asset, a willing asset in Vladimir Putin’s campaign to undermine our republic, and our democratic way of life.

 

This week the Washington Post revealed the Rudy Giuliani, Donald Trump’s personal attorney was the target of a Russian Intelligence operation and has been for a least a year. Our intelligence services warned the White House that this was happening, and instead of intervening on behalf of the republic, the Trump administration let it continue, they even encouraged it.

 

Giuliani has been the target of a disinformation campaign, and has repeatedly passed the Russian disinformation on to Donald Trump, who takes the disinformation and amplifies it.

 

Be mindful, I am not suggesting that Donald Trump’s criminal acquiescence to the Kremlin has to do with anything other than the fact that he is in debt to Russian oligarch’s (read Vladimir Putin) something to the tune of 450 million dollars, but that is enough. It is happening and it is real.

 

Donald Trump is a traitor.

 

Listen!

 

I am not a prosecutor, and this is not a court of law. I have looked at the evidence that is publicly available and drawn my own conclusion. If we are ever able to bring him up on charges he should be entitled to all of the protections our legal system offers any defendant, but this is the court of public opinion and I am telling it like it is.

 

I want you to consider this:

 

Donald Trump’s refusal to manage the COVID-19 pandemic defies reason.

 

He is the most well informed person on this subject and it was revealed in Bob Woodward’s that Trump knows how deadly the virus is, and that he has been lying to the public about what he knows from the outset.

 

Some people suggest that his refusal to deal with the pandemic, to put forward a rational plan for managing it has something to do with his narcissism, his inability to admit that he was wrong, or simply a completely backward political calculus.


I am suggesting something that I have not heard anyone else propose, but which I think merits serious consideration. I am suggesting that his failure to manage the pandemic is deliberate, that he is taking orders from Vladimir Putin, and the result has been the death of 220,00 Americans, projected to be 400,000 by February, with no end in site.

 

This negligence has to be more than a manifestation of ignorance, it is malfeasance and he must be held accountable for it.




Saturday, October 10, 2020

Vote XII - Editorial, The Week in Review

 

Analysis, Commentary, Opinion

10.10.2020

 

Vote XII

 

There are twenty-four days to go until election day.

Stay alert, the struggle to preserve our republic and our democratic way of life begins on November 3rd.

Last week Mike Lee, the Senior Senator from Utah said that the goal of the election is not to preserve democracy, but to secure and preserve a certain standard of living.

Mike Lee has forgotten that the United States of America is governed by the people for the people, and that government derives its power from the consent of the governed, and that even if a majority desire to curtail the rights of the citizens to life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness, they do not have the authority to do so, because those rights are inalienable.

As Americans we must face the hard truth that we have never lived up to the idealism set forth in the declaration if independence, the constitution, the bill of rights and many of the later amendments. Out government is imperfect because human beings are inherently flawed, but that does not mean we will acquiesce to our flaws and allow a criminal regime and its sycophants to drag us backward.

We are moving forward, we must stand ready to hold the orange menace accountable for his crimes, and everyone who has committed a crime in furtherance of the tyrant’s objectives.

If you have not voted already, vote now.

Make a plan and vote.

Go to your early voting site and vote early, vote by mail, vote absentee, vote in person on election day but do not abstain from voting.

People of good will, stand by and stand ready, the struggle has begun but it will only intensify in the days and weeks ahead, and the real fight begins after the polls close on November 3rd.

Make a pledge to support the basic commitment that every vote which has been cast will be counted.

Be ready to support the count in person and your county elections offices, and by a general strike if need be.

The time is fast approaching, your voice is needed, the future of America and hope for justice depend on it.